top of page

Theta Psi Omega



On January 15, 1908, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C., Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated was established  as the first Greek-letter organization founded by African-American college women. Through the years, Alpha Kappa Alpha has grown from sixteen trailblazers to an international sisterhood of over 355,000 members with chapters throughout the United States, Africa, Asia and Europe. 


On October 19, 1969, sixteen tenacious women chartered Theta Psi Omega Chapter in Providence, Rhode Island. Guided by the principles of high scholastic and ethical standards, unity, sisterhood and service to all mankind, Alpha Kappa Alpha continues to carry out the vision of its Founders. 

Charter Members


Maree Anderson

Henrietta Borge*

Florence Butler*

Gwendolyn Carroll-Tolliver*

Bessie J. Clanton*

Beatrice Coleman*

Adele Gamble*

Juanita Handy*

Constance Hudson*

Prudence Irving*

Lottie Porter*

Miriam Smith*

Ruth Smith-Robertson

Gloria Spears*

Helen Speedwell*

Bertha Tull*

* Deceased

Chapter Presidents

Juanita Handy (1969-1971)*

 Robbie Graham (1972)

 Henrietta Borge (1972-1974)*

 Ruth Smith-Robertson (1975-1978)*

 Josephine Oliver ( 1979-1982)*

 Nearlene Francis (1983-1984)*

 Beverly E. Ledbetter (1985-1988)

 Bessie J. Clanton (1989-1990)*

 Fayneese Miller (1991-1992)

 Naomi Craig (1993-1994)*

 Sophia Shields (1995-1996)*

 Gladys E. Thomas (1997-1998)

 Mercedes Beres (1999-2000)

 Bettye Williams-Clanton (2001-2002)

 Deborah Kanston (2003-2004)

 Bettye Williams-Clanton (2005-2006)

 Beverly E. Ledbetter (2007-2008)

 Valerie Wilson (2009-2010)*

 Aprylle Wallace (2011-2012)

 Candace Harper (2013-2014)

 Janelle Clarke-Holley (2015-2016)

 Joi-Danelle Whitehead (2017-2018)

 Dionne Hyman (2019-2020)

Janelle Clarke-Holley (2021-2022)

Roxann Johnson-Nance (2023-Present)

bottom of page